Skip to main content

Jennifer Anderson's Profile

Name:

Jennifer Anderson

Teacher

profile pic

Contact Info:

Conference Times:

During COVID-19 by appointment or email

Class Room Number:

12

About Me

Educational History:

I got to Texas as quick as I could! I graduated from Aledo High School in Aledo, IL. I then moved to Dallas, TX and went to Brookhaven Community College before transferring to Texas Woman’s University. No that’s not a typo in woman they kept it singular because they focus on each individual student. I received a Bachelor of Science degree in 1996.

Degrees and Certifications:

I have a degree in Interdisciplinary Studies. I am certified K-8th grade in general education and 3-21 years in special education. I also have an ESL endorsement. I would like to get a masters in Educational Technology.

Current Position:

I have been at BES since 2007. I have taught 1st-3rd grades as a classroom teacher and now I am the primary inclusion and resource instructor. I love my BES family and the move back to special education has been truely a blessing.

Previous Position:

My first teaching job was in 1996, as a High School Special Education teacher at Highland Park High School. It only took one year to realize high school and I were not a match made in heaven. I started my elementary career at the Math, Science, and Technology Magnet (MST) in Richardson, TX. I was an inclusionary special education teacher for K-Fourth grade for 7 years. I then made the move to the general education classroom to 2nd grade. It was a wonderful move and I was so happy my cheeks hurt from smiling so much. After three years I then made the move to the Hill Country.  

Family Information:

 

 

Personal Information:

Most of my hobbies are outside activities. I’m ok with snow as long as it’s either just for a few days or I’m visiting the land of the Yanks and I can go skiing. The rest of the time I’m thankful for living in Texas in the Hill Country. I enjoy running, cycling, golfing, paddle boarding, kayaking, swimming, gardening, CrossFit, cooking/being healthy, & hanging out with friends. My inside hobbies include reading. I mostly read Christian fiction or mystery novels. I’m not an artistic person but in 2001 I took up knitting. I really enjoy making items for other people and seeing a beautiful finished product. 

I go to Hillside Fellowship Church and attended the Women’s weekly bible study.